WEIGHING OPTIONS: 2013. The Year That Was

 

A sacred burden is this life you bear:

Look on it, lift it, bear it solemnly,

Stand up and walk beneath it steadfastly.

Fail not for sorrow, falter not for sin,

But onward, upward, till the goal you win

                                                                   (Frances Anne Kemble)  

By the time this blog appears it will January 2013. 2012 has passed and if nothing else, it was interesting. A year is a period of time that can be best characterized not as the 365 days it takes Terra (Earth) to obit the Sun, but as shadow-play in which events occur that will affect us for the remainder of our time on this planet.

The 365 days is a proper period to reflect on those events and decide how we can improve on the quality of who we are. During that measure of time one can also weigh the wisdom of and proper method of jettisoning things that caused our year to less than what it should have been.

That is what I decided to do –throw off the bullshit. God knows I had to confront a lot of it in 2012. Every year is filled with challenges and rewards. For me a reward should be the grand pay-off for enduring. My rewards have been few, but I have learned a lot.

Why am I saying this? Because I own a small business – and in Obama’s America – it puts a bull’s-eye’s on my back. It also means that we need to educate ourselves politically so that a person holding a contrary view to our own is not vilified. 2013 is the year I will stop hiding behind a smile and its pretense of invulnerability to personal pain, anger, and out and out baffled sadness.

I thought about using this blog as a vehicle to write about happy stuff – things that will compel prospective clients to join us in our field of sunshine. But that would suggest that we are trouble free at Carson Dunn Media Advertising – we are not.

I am the source of most of it. The problem stems from the fact that I am a ‘nice guy.’ Well if I learned anything last year is that this too put’s bull’s-eye on my back.

This is not a recitative of resolutions for the New Year, but a declaration of what won’t happen anymore.

What I about to say has to do with being a small agency and being close to the action. If we had a larger company with its attendant layers of management, I wouldn’t be talking about it. Call this cautionary as I move on.

To begin with, we had at least two bad hires. These were nasty minded, treacherous people that would probably steal oxygen from their grandmother’s nostrils – small wonder they created hell within the office. I cannot name names, or go into details, but it is best to spot these types when they walk in the door and promptly point them to the exit. A small agency cannot afford their antics.

I also encountered some lazy, dense interns that complained about the number of assignments they received, or walked away from them. Assignments come with the territory, folks. Here is the worse of it, though: clients that we call ‘time-stealers.’  You will know a ‘time-stealer,’ by their tactics – soliciting your time for services – receiving them — and not paying for them. We had several of them in 2012. That year also brought several people that refused to understand the difference between a ‘publicist,’ and ‘public relations agency.’ They wanted a lot for nothing, and more beyond that. They were also time- stealers too. This really affected the ‘nice guy’ in me.

Listen, in a year where I wept at the passing of one of the kindest people God has given us, my brother-in-law, Brad, I also woke up. Life is too short for air thieves, time-stealers and bad interns to take up space in my head. So, as this year proceeds, the quality of CDM’s work will grow by leaps and bounds. We will add managers for marketing, public relations, and business accounts. Our services will reflect our skills, and our compensation will be within industry standards. We are revamping by moving to a new office, building a new website, logo, and with it a new attitude. 

As the CEO of CDM I truly believe that in order to move forward, I must take it seriously, be single-minded and not waver.

 

Bernard A. McNealy, President/CEO

 

Leave a Reply

